Porridge sourdough

There have been a few days here where it definitely feels like winter is on its way; fire stoked up, misty mornings and porridge for breakfast. My supplies of wholemeal flours and grains are running a little low, but one thing I have a lot of is porridge oats.

This sourdough uses porridge oats and strong white flour to make a soft, creamy textured loaf with a dark brown, crisp crust. I converted my rye starter to a white starter simply by feeding it with strong white flour twice before using it.

20140504-110512.jpg

Because this recipe follows a timeline (borrowed from Ken Forkish’s method) I will write the recipe out using the times I followed.

Porridge sourdough makes 2 loaves

1 cup porridge oats
2 cups water

400g white starter @100% hydration
700g strong white flour
500g water
20g salt
Cooked porridge

Day 1
8pm: soak porridge in water, refresh starter

Day 2
8am: refresh starter
2pm: cook porridge in a pan on the hob for 8 minutes, stirring frequently. When finished much of the water will have been absorbed or evaporated.
3pm: mix flour and water, autolyse for 30 minutes
3.30pm: add in other ingredients, including cooked porridge. Knead for 5 minutes in the bowl to combine all of the ingredients. Bulk ferment for about 4 hours, until doubled
8pm: divide and shape into two boules. Place into bannetons floured with rice flour. Place bannetons into plastic bags and refrigerate overnight

Day 3
8am: preheat oven to 240 degrees C with a Dutch oven on the middle shelf, lid on
8.45am: turn the first loaf out onto a floured peel or the back of a baking sheet. Slide into the Dutch oven and replace lid. Bake at 240°C for 30 minutes, then remove the lid and bake for a further 15 minutes. Cool on a wire rack and repeat with the remaining loaf.

20140504-110505.jpg

20140504-110452.jpg

20140505-165214.jpg

20140505-165207.jpg

15 thoughts on “Porridge sourdough

      1. Not really, sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t! The slash gives a better rise on some breads but I find it isn’t really necessary with this one

  1. Hiya, I made this loaf as per the instructions and I had way too much water. I had to add lots of extra flour. I made it again today with only 120 mils of water – it is much better. Are you sure your ingredients are right? If you weigh the oats and the water used to cook them in and add it to the other ingredients it is way over 100% water to flour.

    1. Hi Glenda, first of all, thanks for trying the recipe! I just checked my notebook and the ingredients are correct, although it is an extremely wet dough. I’m using Australian measurement cups for the porridge and cooking the porridge in the soaking water for about 8 minutes before leaving to cool, if that makes any difference.

      1. Hi I cooked the oats for 2.5 mins in microwave, gave them a stir and then 2 extra mins as per Uncle Toby’s instructions. My 1 cup of oats weighed 80g and the water about 450+g. All up 980g of ‘dry’ and 1150g of wet ingredients- 117%. That sure is a wet dough. If today’s look ok I will do a post on it. 🙂 Thanks for your help.

      2. Good work! Did you make a note of the water:flour ratio in yours? I suspect that my porridge was a lot drier when it went in, more the consistency of a dry mashed potato… If you can picture that…

  2. Pingback: Porridge sourdough | Passion Fruit Garden

  3. Pingback: Pugilese – a ciabatta style bread with a sourdough starter | Bread Bar None

What do you think?

