Sourdough baking on a work night: the complete method

Earlier in the week I wrote three separate posts following the process of making sourdough on a weeknight, from mixing the dough on day one to shaping and bakin on day two. This post brings all three steps together with the recipe.

   
 Weekday light rye – makes two loaves 

  • 800g strong white flour
  • 200g rye flour
  • 650g water
  • 50g white sourdough starter
  • 20g salt

Day one – the dough

  • 6pm: mix all of the ingredients in a large bowl. Rest for 15 minutes.
  • 6:15pm: stretch/fold the dough several times. Rest for another 15 minutes and repeat. Do this another 3 times, making 5 stretch/folds in total. 
  • 7:15pm: after the final stretch/fold, oil the bowl, form the dough into a ball, and place back into the bowl. Cover with cling film and rest at room temperature overnight.

Day two: morning – shaping

  • 7am: divide the dough and shape into two boules. I have used the shaping method explained in my bulk sourdough post. Rest for 15 minutes.
  • 7:15am: reshape the dough, rest for another 15 minutes, then reshape a final time and place seam side up into a floured banneton.
  • 7:30am: place the shaped loaves in bannetons into plastic bags, and place in the fridge.

Day two: evening – baking

  • 5:30pm: Preheat oven to 230C with two cast iron lidded pots (Dutch ovens) on the middle shelf.
  • 5:30pm: Remove the loaves from the fridge whilst the oven preheats.
  • 6pm: Turn the loaves out onto a floured peel, score, and place into the pots.
  • 6pm-6:30pm: Bake for 15 minutes with the lid on, then remove the lid for a further 15 minutes.
  • 6:30pm: Cool on a wire rack for at least an hour before slicing

6 responses to “Sourdough baking on a work night: the complete method”

  1. Many midweek sourdough recipes I’ve seen don’t look at all manageable, but this schedule looks like it would really work for me! I shall definitely give it a go.

    1. It’s taken me a while figure out, but using very little starter and letting the dough just do its thing definitely seems to be the way to go!

  2. […] on my recipe for making sourdough during the week, this post is about applying that method to a spiced fruit loaf, with raisins and sultanas. […]

  3. Any thoughts on making a whole wheat loaf with this method?

    1. I’d start off with a 50/50 blend (and have used this method for that), just to get a feel for the dough. I was happy with the method for 50/50; with a 100% wholemeal I’d probably skip the fridge retard and do a 2-3 hour room temperature proof instead

  4. […] another recipe from Breadbar none called weekday light rye. I did 2 loaves, one I followed the recipe ingredient and another I tweaked. In the tweaked version […]

What do you think?